Back to UEA! First steps

I just got back to Norwich and feel re-charged for 2nd year of Nursing school.

jjjkjkj
My new home

Capture jj

To begin with, I had to move out of university accommodation and move all my luggage to my new privately rented shared house. I’m going to have three more flatmates who are good friends of mine and we all have individual bedrooms. The house is a bit far from campus (20 min with a bike), however, it is really cosy and cheap compared to other places (220 pounds [excluding bills] per month for my tiny room). In addition, it is only 5 minutes walk from a large convenience store where everything is really cheap.

WP_20150902_008

WP_20150902_012
hidden wardrobe on the right

What can I say… I Iove pink, obviously! 😀

I was glad to meet my furry neighbour who hangs around. I really love cats and this one is amazingly friendly.

WP_20150903_003

The first thing I cooked when I came back was, of course, mussaka and tarator for my best friend who helped me so much in the past week. I feel so lucky that we both speak the same native language and we can truly understand each other and help one another.

WP_20150830_005
mussaka
WP_20150830_008
tarator and mussaka

What’s next!? Well, I start lectures after one week on 14 September. Eeek! Time flies so fast!

5 Replies to “Back to UEA! First steps”

  1. Hi Dorothy! I’m always really happy to read your comments! I hope you are doing well. How is the weather in Bulgaria? In Norwich it’s getting a bit cold around 10-14 degrees.

    Anyway, here is my recipe!

    Ingredients – serves 4/5: 600g potatoes, 500g minced/ground pork or beef, 1 carrot, 1-2 onions, 2 tomatoes, 2 eggs, 250g yoghurt, pinch of baking soda, 1 tbsp flour, salt, red pepper, ground cumin

    How to make it: Season the ground meat with salt, pepper and ground cumin to taste. Mix it with the onion and fry it in a pan until it becomes in small pieces for approx. 5 – 10 min. Dice the potatoes, the carrot, the tomatoes and place them in a baking tray. Add the meat and mix everything well. Add water until it almost covers the ingredients and bake on 200 C for about 40 min. Stir dish if required after 20 min. Meanwhile make the topping by mixing the eggs, the yogurt, a pinch of baking soda, and 1 tbsp of flour. After the potatoes and meat are well cooked cover the dish with the topping and bake for further 10 min. Serve and enjoy.

    xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks very much Georgie, that’s great. Temperature here? – Roasting! We really want it to cool down a bit, plus we need some rain. Temps of 40C at the moment in Inzovo are not unusual, but we’ve had enough for this year. Yours in Norwich would be quite welcome overnight – we might get some sleep! I look forward to your updates, it’s good to know how well you are doing in your chosen career. xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

