Live on £10 for a week: The student challenge

Recently, I read about the ‘Live on £10 a week’ challenge and I thought it would be quite easy for for me to achieve it as I don’t eat meat. To complete the challenge, I tactfully made a shopping list of all the ingredients I need. So here is what I bought:

My strategy was to use the same ingredients every single day and here is my Day 1 to Day 7 set menu:

BREAKFAST: 2 toasts with jam, a piece of fruit (apple or banana) and a cup of black coffee.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

LUNCH: Fried potatoes with herbs, 2 fried eggs, salad, a toast and a cuppa.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

DINNER: 3 bread pizzas, salad (optional) and a cuppa. To make the bread pizzas you spread a spoonful of olive oil, followed by a spoonful of pasta sauce on each slice and topping them up which grated cheddar cheese. You grill them in the oven for 10-15 min on 200° C until crispy.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The negative is that herbs, spices, olive oil, tea and coffee have not been counted in this challenge. The positive is that if you follow the set menu accordingly, you’ll end up with an excess of 4 pieces of fruit, 2 slices of bread, 1 egg and probably a bit of jam. What you might run out of before the week ends is the pasta sauce and the lettuce. Day 1/7 complete. Happy budgeting y’all!! xx

 

Leave a Reply

